itsy bitsy

30 06 2009

dfly1I was never a big fan of dragonflies.  I remember tearing through the neighborhood, screaming bloody murder thinking I was being chased by them.  Isn’t it just like fear to blind us from some of the most beautiful things around us?

dfly2So as I watched this guy spin in the wind, unable to move, tangled in silk – it was easy to snap a few pictures before the unthinkable happened.  The outside of the garage – up near the flood lights – is always a mess at this time of year of bugs, webs and the like.

dfly3With broom in hand I decided to give the garage a good sweep…and started with the poor dragonfly.  I caught the top of the web and wouldn’t you know it…the dragonfly was free!  I didn’t think he was still alive. I thought he’d be toast by nightfall for sure.

dfly4Pablo Picasso said, “The artist is a receptacle for emotions that come from all over the place:  from the sky, from the earth, from a scrap of paper, from a passing shape, from a spider’s web.”  Today I not only felt like a lucky artist getting to see this captured beauty but I also got to set him free.  And I’m not scared at all!


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

