Pass me that baby

22 11 2009

Shop Girl, yours is the first hand he grasped.  Yours is the touch that calms. You will turn around twice and another hand, another heart will finish what you started.  Mothers of sons must learn to share.

Mimi will arrive on the red-eye.  Best Boy has been here for three days but isn’t all here without her.  I like that.  This isn’t home for him anymore.  She is.  And when I really see that and celebrate that, it helps me in my current struggle.

I want to gather MY kids and the ones they love, pull closed the shutters and revel in these few short hours we’ll have together in one place.  Stupid me.  Our table, now complete, includes two other people who have mothers – who feel the same pull I do.

Selfishness wells up in me and I am torn at having other responsibilities, other gatherings to attend, other people to include who desire our company.  Shame-shame-shame on me.

Now quit hogging that baby and pass me Donny Diva.

 

Actions

Information

3 responses

22 11 2009
Jen Knapp

LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT! Pass me some donny!!

23 11 2009
Sherita

Querida hermana, I think it’s important to be gracious to yourself. Like other stages you have navigated, admittedly some better than others, these feelings are a part of this season…I love you.

24 11 2009
newsphotojournalist

Well said, very insightful, so glad they can be with you for a bit so you can enjoy your family. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours, may God bless you all richly!

Leave a Reply

