“82-year-old Valparaiso Widow First to Sprout Eco-friendly Green Roof”

25 06 2009

groofAnd here I think that when I’m not around, she is just sitting in her recliner working word puzzles!!  As I came back from buying 30 lbs. of bird seed, 80 lbs. water softener salt and bunion pads – I noticed something startling.

I had no idea she had been doing research about eco-friendly options for roofs – planting gardens in her gutters.  It was only 90ºs at 8:30 a.m. so I wanted to get a closer look before it really got hot.

Finding the most ridiculous aluminum ladder I could drag out of the garage, I nimbly  got up to where I could inspect the handiwork.  She’d been saying the gutters needed to be cleaned out!  While I was in such a heightened state of heat stroke – I decided to trim an overgrown bush while there.

Naturally, the only thing I could find that resembled hedge clippers was a pair of 200 lb. 80 year old overgrown scissors.  I think I could have chewed the clippings off faster.

Fully enjoying the delirium of dehydration, I decided that nothing would get done in the basement this time around.  I had done enough penance.  I don’t do yards!!!

Time to head home – but not till after we finished the weekly round of two anniversary cards, a thank you card to the guy that graciously mows the lawn each week on a robo-mower, and one last card to encourage the wife of Billy’s best bowling bud who has traveled lots farther down the Alzheimer’s road-of-no-return than Billy ever had to walk.   Those got put in the mail – I stopped and got her something to eat and now it’s time to go.

She didn’t sleep well last night.  So she’s snoozing in the chair – the puzzle book page partially done on her lap.

It’s really hard work being so inovative at her age with that green roof top garden and all…

tyou

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

