Pack rats have more fun.

29 10 2008

Yes, the answer to yesterday’s puzzler is right here before your eyes.  What would I do if money were no object?  I would get the right stuff and have fun.  These are old slides I’ve had since, ohhh 20 years or so…sleeping in their little clear plastic pocket beds.  So this morning when I should be doing something really productive before I leave for Indiana, I got distracted.  I had to see what our scanner would do.  Since I’m too impatient to read instructions, I just scanned the negatives, then printed from there then re-scanned the image into my iPhoto.  That is the way a dumb 53 year old rolls when she knows there really is a right way to do things – but there are other ways that get a quick, not-so-perfect task accomplished.

Back in the summer of  1975, my parents gave me a gift that changed my life and I want it back. They bought me a used Beseler Topcon SLR 35mm camera as a birthday gift before I took off on my first trip to Spain. A couple of rolls of film were shot before I left and the rest was learning as I went.  I have some great slides, since back in the day I only shot ASA 64.  And to think that in another couple of years – no one will know what that means.

Anyway, back to my dream world.  Maybe it’s not a dream world but a dream challenge.  There are things I need to do.  Digitizing all my slides (or at least the ones worthy of keeping) is something I want to accomplish.  With the right equipment, knowing what I’m doing and taking my time.  They do me no good wasting away in the bottom of the closet.

And it’s probably time to think about a good digital SLR too.  After the Topcon (you really have to know old time photography to recognize that name), I graduated to a Nikon F3 HP.  I walked into a candy store the other day (actually a camera store and Shop Girl said that it was the first time she’d ever seen me salivate in a store.  She likened it to her walking into a closet stuffed with Marc Jacobs goodies)…and found out that maybe just maybe I can get a digital that all my lenses (the ones with sahara sand deep in their innards – maybe they should be cleaned first) would fit on.

Ok, enough of this fantasy, lotto world garbage.  I really have work to do.  But just posting three old pics…is a big thing for me today.  Now to the business of dust bunnies.

Actions

Information

4 responses

29 10 2008
Jules

oh my wendy! oh oh my! please give me more.
i’m sure you have many more treasures hidden deep within the plastic folders that are just waiting for their turn. they’re having little bets in there as to who gets to come out next….kinda like in toy story but with slides….
Do you know anything about or have you used a through the viewfinder? I’m becoming intrigued by those. Last week I made my own pinhole camera out of a match box but i cut the frame to be 24×24, as someone suggested, and Costco didn’t know how to develop it like that so it was botched.
I’ll be waiting impatiently here for more of yours…..

29 10 2008
chas0154

Nice stuff. I admire the skill that it takes to whip out some mean 35mm work. I always wanted my own dark room. The heck with photo shop. Give me dangerous chemicals any day!!

29 10 2008
Barbara

breathtaking. give us more!

29 10 2008
1eyedmonkee

thanks Barb. It is like I found a bunch of long lost friends. It will be a fun project – don’t know when the next installment will be. There are plenty to pick from that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

