grady baby

31 07 2008

Oh you sweet thing. I just wanted to welcome you to our part of the universe and let you know that I have you in mind alot when I write about your great-grandfather. And I was realizing that you two really have alot in common – even with 85 years 9 months and 20 some odd days difference in your ages.

You both have a tough time sleeping through the night. It is rough for you both expressing exactly what it is that you’re trying to get across which leads us caregivers to guessing games to get you settled down. Naps can be only minutes long – do you sense that we are sneaking off to catch a nap too because we’re exhausted? Or when you sleep too long and everyone in the house gets really nervous and huddles over you to see if you’re breathing.

Actually the list is quite long but I’ll stop with the one I thought of today – you had the same thing for lunch…just out of different containers. Papa doesn’t feel like eating anything much these days…but he will drink a glass of milk.

So maybe Elton John knew what he was talking about when he wrote “The Circle of Life”…but why do so few people my age have the tenderness, patience, awe and wonder around their bubbes as they do for their grand-babies? Don’t they know they are next in line to be the old ones no one likes to be around? Too many times I see bubbes being bossed around by know-it-all-loud-mouth-laundromat-type-moms – screaming their heads off and embarrassing everyone around them. Well enough of that…

Oh and one last thing – when your grandma was a little girl and I was her new babysister there were guys that would come around in trucks every morning and deliver glass bottles of milk to our house. They were called milkmen and our’s was named Grady. What a coinkydink! I really liked him and I think I’ll really like you too. So welcome little Grady baby – we’ve been waiting a long time to meet you and we’re glad you’re here!

Actions

Information

7 responses

31 07 2008
Grady's mom

I was sitting in church last Sunday, rubbing my swollen belly listening to the prayer request for an elderly man in our church struggling in his last days w congestive heart failure. I, of course, was thinking of my grandpa, wondering about the cycle of life…Grady entering and dear Grandpa leaving. I also thought about this cycle as we were delivering sweet Grady the same weekend we had lost our first baby exactly three years ago. The words we clung to at that point are still true today…”God is good, ALL the time”. I know we will have to cling to those words in the coming days w grandpa. I only hope Grady baby has a chance to meet my favorite grandparent before that day comes. Thanks for your words, Aunt Wendy! Love you lots! Jen

31 07 2008
1eyedmonkee

just like it’s hard to hold Grady now and wonder what he’s gonna be when he grows up – it’s hard to look at my dad now and remember what he was when he was a grown up. i’d just like to spend some time capturing some of that because the only thing I see around here are flickers that last about as long as a lightening bug. I got some funny pictures today of him standing in the breezeway when a storm was blowing in. i’ll post them sometime…but that was about the only “lighthearted” moment in about 15 hours. argh. you know what I mean…it’ll be a smile or a giggle for you soon in the midst of some colic or something. thinking about that little guy today i could just smell him…the sweet him that is. xoxoxoxox

31 07 2008
Amy Jo

What a legacy! Bill McNiece, father of Melinda, Buddy, and Wendy; grandfather of Amy, Jeremy, Jen, Matt, Jason, Sonny, and Brie; G-g Pa (as we call him down here in TX!) to Kellen, Garrett, Kyleigh, and now Grady. It was one of the greatest moments of my adult-life to have my son sit next to my grandparents and have a Kodak moment; memories never die. I fully understand Jen’s hope to have that moment, and I pray that somehow she will. Congratulations to my cousin Jen – we prayed so often for you! Welcome to the extended McNiece family, Grady Brent!

2 08 2008
Jason

One more little coincidence here- check out the date that Skye passed away on the Skye box posting picture. July 28 – exact date Grady was born this year.

4 08 2008
Melinda

ahhh, no coincidences here!! Only God at work yet again!!!

7 08 2008
Lynn

I haven’t had a cry this long in a very long time!! Both sad and happy.

15 06 2010
Melinda

And here, almost 2 years later, I’m having a cry over this post again! Here, after reading “Twinkling” today…

Leave a Reply

